Within 20 miles
|Valle Crucis Abbey
Llangollen LL20 8DD
Tel 01978 860326
The ruins of Valle Crucis Abbey sit in a narrow valley beside the Eglwyseg Stream, at the
foot of the Horseshoe Pass. This important Cistercian abbey, founded in 1201, was known
for its patronage of the Welsh bards, and the grave of one 14th-century poet, Iolo Goch,
is here. The 13th-century west front is still standing, as is the chapter house, dating
from the 14th century, with its fine, intact rib-vaulting.
Chirk LL14 5AF
Tel 01691 777701
Fax 01691 774706
A squat, square fortress with massive walls and bastions built in the time of Edward I,
Chirk Castle provides fascinating contrasts within. One wing is a dungeon block almost
unchanged since 1310; another is a private residence, inhabited for over 600 years; a
third has splendidly furnished 18th- and 19th-century staterooms and fine decorations; the
fourth shows traces of Tudor gables. The castle is set in parkland through which runs part
of Offas Dyke.
|Trefriw Woollen Mill
Trefriw LL27 0NQ
Tel 01492 640462
One of a handful of historic mills still making traditional Welsh woollen goods, the
woollen mill at Trefriw was operated in the 18th and 19th centuries by water wheels. A
hydro-electric scheme introduced in 1900 has today been replaced by electricity generated
by two tangential wheels that drive alternators. Yet the processes of blending, carding,
spinning, and dyeing the raw wooland the woven end-product itselfremain
traditional. Bedspreads and a wide range of all-wool tweed tapestry products are made
here, and Trefriw has its own distinctive geometric patterns. Hand-weaving demonstrations
can be seen in the summer months.
Within 30 Miles :
Bodelwyddan LL18 5YA
Tel 01745 584060
Fax 01745 584563
Bodelwyddan Castle in the Vale of Clwyd is a magnificent, restored Victorian mansion whose
towers and crenellations give it a distinctly medieval flavour. Housed here is the
National Portrait Gallerys collection of 19th-century portraits and photographs,
furniture from the Victoria and Albert Museum and sculptures from the Royal Academy.
Victorian amusements and inventions, toys, tricks, and optical illusions provide an
interactive experience that both adults and children will enjoy.
|Conwy Tubular Bridge
Carefully designed to harmonise with the adjacent castle, Robert Stephenson's bridge
comprises a pair of tubes resting on piers that rise into rectangular and cylindrical
towers decorated with crenellations. Opened in 1849, the bridge still carries the main
railway line to Holyhead.
Completed in 1867, this is the only large timber viaduct in Britain still in use. It spans
the Mawddach estuary on 113 short spans. There are two steel girders at the north end, one
of which used to swing to allow ships up river. A footpath which crosses the bridge is
accessible from Barmouth.
|Conwy Suspension Bridge
Telford's original chains still hold up this graceful suspension bridge which spans the
River Conwy beside Conwy Castle. Opened in 1826, the bridge is open to pedestrians only,
and there is a small exhibition in the toll house.
Vistor Number : Since 18.01.99